12.12.2019 





contemporary art on the net

Main page | Contact us | Search
–усский | Deutsche | English





















Thirty Steps to the Sea


Victoria and Vlad Yurashko

From February 3, 2010. Guelman Projects on Malaya Polyanka 7/7-5



Vika Yurashko was born in Lugansk Region, Ukraine (1968). Studied at Kharkiv State Academy of Design and Arts (1996-2002). Scholarship of the Cultural City Network (CCN) by order of the City of Graz, Austria (2001).
Vlad Yurashko was born in Poltava, Ukraine (1970). Studied at Kharkiv State Academy of Design and Arts (1996-2002). Scholarship of the Cultural City Network (CCN) by order of the City of Graz, Austria (2001).
Live and work in Moscow (since 2008).

Although Vika and Vlad Yurashko have de facto moved to Moscow from the Crimea, their artistic formation took place in Kharkiv, where they spent a large part of their professional lives. In terms of its cultural importance, Kharkiv is currently second only to Kiev in Ukraine Ц and even then only in the quantity of its contemporary artists, and not in their quality. The enormous influence of Boris Mikhailov on Kharkiv artistic circles means that, to this day, photography is still the dominant form of art there Ц even though the city can also boast many equally exciting events in the realms of painting. For example, around ten years ago, there was an attic gallery run along the same lines as the gallery on Tryokhprudny in Moscow, i.e. created and managed by artists (in this case, Sergei Bratkov, who was at that time a painter).

So the Yurashkos were naturally, for some time, influenced by Boris Mikhailov. This was particularly evident in their Matrosov project (2004), which combined photography, videos and painting. Vlad says that they wanted to develop the theme of "expressive and sensual folly, reflected in the bloody and dirty souls of the people."

The couple have also worked on purely photographic projects. In the course of their numerous photo sessions and experiments, they hit upon an effective device, which seemed to possess great semantic potential. This was the photocollage. The Red Series (2001) was formed from photographs of the identification numbers of tanks and carriages, appearing through images of the heroes of everyday life.

After ten years in Kharkiv, Vika and Vlad Yurashko embarked on a radical experiment. They moved to the Crimea, where, in the absence of any local artistic environment, they dedicated themselves to painting. Over four years, they created several series, including For Export (2006) and Opening of the "Russia Goodbye" Fountain (2007).

In these works, the artists continued to investigate the painterly nature of the image Ц which they unequivocally regarded as media and photographically virtual. Their voluntary cultural isolation contributed to the appearance of a biting satire and the desire to disclose the squalid, monotonous and stereotypical aspects of the human manifestations of their heroes.
Sometime after moving to Moscow, such moods gave way, on the one hand, to a nostalgia for free natural space. On the other, the artists abandoned the attempt to include a concrete denunciatory message in their paintings. They began to approach painting more analytically, trying to maintain a certain distance from the image itself.

The name of the project currently on show at our gallery describes the device employed by the artists in their quest for an adequate visual incarnation of the concept of the "sea." The sea becomes the symbol of a universum as such Ц or of eternal nature which, in the words of Boris Pasternak, "brings to naught" the metrics of the life and cognitive efforts of the little man.

The artists move towards the "sea" in two ways. Using their fingers, they blindly seek an image among the letters painted in oil on canvas, which are washed away by this movement, assuming a wavy pattern. They also find "waves" among the chance runs of paint splashing across the edge of the stretcher. Abstract painting is thereby interpreted as a chance and independent phenomenon, pouring into the gaps and cracks of human practice.



28.01.2010
print version 
















Main page | Contact us | Search



copyright © 1998-2019 guelman.ru
e-mail: gallery@guelman.ru
IT Support  NOC Service




     Rambler's Top100

14.10.2019 




Вы можете не умереть
Михаил Батин, Алексей Турчин
10.12.2013- 15.12.2013

Вы можете не умереть





«Трасса М4. Ростов - Москва» / Современное искусство Ростова-на-Дону





Лес/ Современное искусство Краснодара





Культурный Альянс. Проект Марата Гельмана

Главная | Контакты | Поиск | Дневник М. Гельмана
Русский | Deutsch | English


























Тридцать ступеней к морю


Виктория и Влад Юрашко

Guelman Projects, М.Полянка 7/7-5. C 3 февраля 2010 года



Вика Юрашко родилась в 1968 году в Луганской обл., Украина. 1996-2002 – Харьковская государственная Академия дизайна и искусств. 2001 – scholarship on the Cultural City Network [CCN] by order of the City of Graz, Austria.

Влад Юрашко родился в 1970 году, город Полтава, Украина. 1996-2002 – Харьковская государственная Академия дизайна и искусств.2001 – scholarship on the Cultural City Network [CCN] by order of the City of Graz, Austria.

С 2008 года живут и работают в Москве.

Супруги Юрашко де-факто переехали в Москву из Крыма, но их формирование как художников произошло в Харькове, где они провели большую часть творческой жизни. Известно, что по своему значению в современной культуре Харьков на Украине занимает второе место после Киева – и то, в отношении количества современных художников, а не их уровня. Колоссальное влияние Бориса Михайлова на художественные круги города привело к тому, что доминантой здесь и по сей день остается фотография, при том, что и в области живописи в Харькове случались небезынтересные события. Например, около десяти лет назад там существовала галерея-мансарда по типу галереи на Трехпрудном в Москве, то есть созданная и руководимая художниками (а именно: Сергеем Братковым, бывшим в ту пору живописцем).

Конечно, и супруги Юрашко были какое-то время под влиянием Бориса Михайлова. Ярче всего это проявилось в проекте "Матросов" (2004), состоявшей из фотографий, видео и живописи, в котором, по словам Влада, развивалась тема "экспрессивной и чувственной дури, отражающейся в кровавой и грязной душе народа".

Занимались авторы и чисто фотографическими проектами. И во время бесчисленных фотосессий и экспериментов был найден эффектный прием, который обладал к тому же большим семантическим потенциалом: это были фотоколлажи, основой которых стали снимки номеров цистерн и вагонов, просвечивающие поверх изображений героев повседневной жизни. ("Красная серия" 2001).

По прошествии десяти лет пребывания в Харькове Вика и Влад Юрашко решились на радикальный эксперимент – они переехали в Крым, и там, при отсутствии какой бы то ни было художественной среды, посвятили себя живописи. За четыре года ими было создано несколько серий: "На экспорт", 2006, "Открытие фонтана "Раша гудбай"", 2007.

В этих работах авторы продолжали свои исследования живописной природы образа, которую они однозначно считали медийной, фотографически-цифровой. Однако добровольная культурная изоляция способствовала появлению в их творчестве едкой сатирической окрашенности, стремлению разоблачить убогость, вторичность и стереотипичность всех человеческих проявлений своих героев.

При переезде в Москву спустя некоторое врем эти настроения уступили место некоей ностальгии по свободному природному пространству, с одной стороны. С другой, художники оставили намерение заключить в свои живописные работы некий конкретный обличительный месседж, и стали относиться к языку живописи более аналитически, пытаясь выработать некую дистанцию по отношению к самому изображению.

Проект, который в настоящий момент представляет наша галерея, в своем названии заключает описание приема, которым художники пользовались, пытаясь найти адекватное визуальное воплощение понятия "море". Оно у них приобретает символ универсума как такового, бесконечной природы, которая по выражению Б. Пастернака, "сводит и сводит на нет" метрику жизни человечка и его познавательные усилия.

Авторы двигаются к "морю" с двух стороны: как бы вслепую, пальцами ищут образ среди букв, написанных маслом по холсту, которые от их движения размываются и приобретают волнообразный рисунок. И также находят "волны" среди случайных потеков краски, выплеснувшейся за край подрамника. Абстрактная живопись получает здесь интерпретацию случайного и самостийного явления, прорывающегося в щели и зазоры человеческой практики.



















Главная | Контакты | Поиск | Дневник М. Гельмана



copyright © 1998–2019 guelman.ru
e-mail: gallery@guelman.ru
сопровождение  NOC Service




    Rambler's Top100   Яндекс цитирования