8.12.2019 





contemporary art on the net

Main page | Contact us | Search
–усский | Deutsche | English





















Windows and Factories


Alexander Brodsky

Opening 21 May, 19:00, Winzavod



Window and factories...

... this is the new exhibition of the architect Alexander Brodsky in the Marat and Julia Guelman Gallery. Brodsky rarely exhibits his objects. Nevertheless, they are invariably popular with viewers and the Press. That's because Brodsky reflects upon that which is most important in the everyday life of a city dweller Ц the surrounding environment. And, of course, the city dweller's place in it. If other architects often choose the genre of printed publications for contemplating these themes, then Brodsky shares his views with the help of refined objects and installations.

Brodsky's works are not ascribed to concrete addresses, he seldom resorts to working in the style of well-known architectural monuments. And nevertheless, everyone knows that the "story" of his objects is about Moscow. That's why, most likely, there are almost never any people as such in his works: in the expanse of Moscow all the people are small, practically unnoticeable. There is not even the "Medny Vsadnik" ("The Bronze Horseman") with which one could begin fighting, as did Pushkin's Evgeny. Moscow is imagined by Brodsky to be an environment of entropy. In the impressive installation "Coma" (2000, the Guelman Gallery) Moscow was gradually sinking into a grey mass. Then we still did not understand what this substance symbolised. After a few years Moscow finally transformed into a gigantic paid car park and branching network of traffic-jams. The grey Ц is the cars and the products of their activity.

In such an inhuman environment Brodsky creates precise and lyrical, in as far as it is possible, images. Three "Factories" are the central objects of the new exhibition. These are relatives of Brodsky's installation called "Inhabited localities", which was a hit of the exhibition 'The Artist's Diary" in 2005. If in "Inhabited localities" Brodsky paid attention to the winter picturesqueness of an ordinary housing estate, then "Factories" is dedicated to industrial architecture. And instead of snow in vast aquariums on small carts with handles, smoke rises. In contrast to "Inhabited localities", the viewer does not operate an inbuilt mechanism: the factories "work" automatically. In the context of Moscow air pollution "Factories" appears to be almost like the best model of ecology.

The series "Windows" is a new technique in the arsenal of Brodsky-the artist. These are light-boxes, painted in acrylic. Brodsky first made objects of this type for the exhibition "Russian Povera" in Perm. They remind one of shop windows and windows of buildings, closed for repairs. Brodsky has drawn semi-abstract compositions on wet acrylic using his fingers. Stylistically they are close to the graphic works of another well-known architect Ц Evgeny Asse. These are spacious objects with an almost unnoticeable horizon line, landscapes of plains without architectural and natural focal points.

The last object of the exhibition was made modeled on the regular pattern of American graveyards. Tea bags with the portraits of fictional personalities, placed in strict order, go off into the distance owing to mirror boards on supports. This is a new version of the installation "72 Tea Bags", made by Brodsky in 1991.

Alexander Brodsky...

... is one of the most well-known Russian architects in the world. He was born in 1955. Brodsky began working in the sphere of "paper architecture" in the 1980s. Brodsky and Iliya Utkin together participated in Russian and international exhibitions. As a practising architect Brodsky made "Pavilion for Vodka Ceremonies" in the "Klyazminskoe Reservoir" resort (2004), the design of the "Apshu" club (2003, jointly with Yaroslav Kovalchuk) and "Street O. G. I." (2001). He received the Grand prize of the festival Arch-Moscow (2005) for the project "House for Retired Footballers". In 2006 Brodsky represented Russia at the Biennale of contemporary architecture in Venice. Brodsky's works are held in museums and private collections in Russia, Italy and other countries. He has been working with the M&J Guelman Gallery since 1997.

Valentin Diaconov




12.05.2009
print version 
















Main page | Contact us | Search



copyright © 1998-2019 guelman.ru
e-mail: gallery@guelman.ru
IT Support  NOC Service




     Rambler's Top100

8.12.2019 




Вы можете не умереть
Михаил Батин, Алексей Турчин
10.12.2013- 15.12.2013

Вы можете не умереть





«Трасса М4. Ростов - Москва» / Современное искусство Ростова-на-Дону





Лес/ Современное искусство Краснодара





Культурный Альянс. Проект Марата Гельмана

Главная | Контакты | Поиск | Дневник М. Гельмана
Русский | Deutsch | English


























Окна и фабрики


Александр Бродский

С 21 мая 2009 года, Винзавод



Окна и фабрики...

...это новая выставка архитектора Александра Бродского в галерее Марата и Юлии Гельман. Бродский показывает свои объекты редко. Тем не менее, они неизменно пользуются популярностью у зрителей и прессы. Все оттого, что Бродский рефлексирует по поводу самого главного, что есть в повседневной жизни горожанина – окружающей среды. И, конечно же, места в ней городского жителя. Если другие архитекторы часто выбирают для размышлений на эти темы жанр печатной публицистики, то Бродский делится своими взглядами с помощью изящных объектов и инсталляций.

Работы Бродского не приписаны к конкретным адресам, он редко прибегает к стилизации под известные архитектурные памятники. И, тем не менее, каждому ясно, что "рассказ" его объектов – о Москве. Поэтому, наверное, в его работах почти никогда нет человека как такового: в пространстве Москвы все люди – маленькие, практически незаметные. Нет даже "Медного всадника", с которым можно было бы вступить в схватку, как это сделал пушкинский Евгений. Москва мыслится Бродским как пространство энтропии. Во впечатляющей инсталляции "Кома" (2000, Галерея Гельмана) она постепенно погружалась в серую массу. Тогда мы еще не понимали, что символизирует эта субстанция. По прошествии нескольких лет Москва окончательно превратилась в гигантскую платную парковку и разветвленную сеть автомобильных пробок. Серое – это машины и продукты их жизнедеятельности.

В столь негуманной среде Бродский создает точные и лирические, насколько это возможно, образы. Центральными объектами новой выставки становятся три "Фабрики". Это родственники инсталляции Бродского "Населенные пункты", ставшей хитом выставки "Дневник художника" в 2005 году. Если в "Населенных пунктах" Бродский обратил внимание на зимнюю живописность обыкновенной жилой застройки, то "Фабрики" посвящены индустриальной архитектуре. А вместо снега в огромных аквариумах на тележках с ручками идет дым. В отличие от "Населенных пунктов", зритель не управляет встроенным механизмом: фабрики "работают" автоматически. В контексте московской загазованности "Фабрики" выглядят чуть ли не эталоном экологии.

Серия "Окна" представляет собой новый прием в арсенале Бродского-художника. Это лайтбоксы, закрашенные акрилом. Впервые Бродский делал объекты такого типа к выставке "Русское бедное" в Перми. Они напоминают витрины и окна зданий, закрытых на ремонт. Бродский рисует полуабстрактные композиции пальцем по сырому акрилу. Стилистически они близки графическим работам другого известного архитектора – Евгения Асса. Это пустотные вещи с едва намеченной линией горизонта, равнинные ландшафты без архитектурных и природных доминант.

По образцу регулярных сеток американских кладбищ сделан последний объект выставки. Расставленные в строгом порядке чайные пакетики с портретами вымышленных персонажей уходят в бесконечность благодаря зеркальным бортикам на подставке. Это новый вариант инсталляции "72 чайных пакетика", созданной Бродским в 1991 году.

Александр Бродский...

...один из самых известных в мире российских архитекторов. Родился в 1955 году. Бродский начинал работать в русле "бумажной архитектуры" в 1980-е годы. В дуэте с Ильей Уткиным Бродский участвовал в российских и международных выставках. В качестве практикующего архитектора Бродский создал "Павильон для водочных церемоний" в пансионате "Клязьминское водохранилище" (2004), дизайн клуба "Апшу" (2003, совместно с Ярославом Ковальчуком) и "Улица О. Г. И." (2001). За проект "Дома престарелых футболистов" получил Гран-при фестиваля Арх-Москва (2005). В 2006 году Бродский представлял Россию на Биеннале современной архитектуры в Венеции. Работы Бродского хранятся в музейных и частных коллекциях России, Италии и других стран. С галереей М&Ю Гельман сотрудничает с 1997 года.

Валентин Дьяконов




















Главная | Контакты | Поиск | Дневник М. Гельмана



copyright © 1998–2019 guelman.ru
e-mail: gallery@guelman.ru
сопровождение  NOC Service




    Rambler's Top100   Яндекс цитирования