12.12.2019 





contemporary art on the net

Main page | Contact us | Search
–усский | Deutsche | English





















Night Before the Attack


Alexander Brodsky

27.09 Ц 25.10.2009



In the framework of the Parallel programme
of the 3rd Moscow Biennale

Co-organized by
M&J Guelman Gallery
WINZAVOD Center for Contemporary Art

The Project
The militaristic title of Alexander Brodsky's new project is no accident. An artist and architect, Brodsky assimilates possibly the most challenging space of the WINZAVOD exhibition complex Ц Building 6. Work with the Gothic hall and the contrastingly low compartments requires valour and fighting spirit. The history of the WINZAVOD as a cultural institution began here in 2005, with the exhibition I Believe! Since then, few curators or artists have dared to accept the challenge of this place.

Brodsky first became acquainted with the space of Building 6 during work on the general concept of the interior and architecture of WINZAVOD. Since then, he has dreamt of creating an installation fitting these halls. The Night before the Attack is specially designed to play up the most essential features of the space Ц the poor or, rather, problematic lighting; the enormous dimensions; the dampness.

Building 6 is plunged into pitch darkness. The only sources of light are the shining objects placed inside a number of structures. Bound with polyethylene, these constructions recall hotbeds Ц a traditional feature of Russian dachas and vegetable allotments. The title of the installation, however, is intended to redirect the flow of visual associations in another direction. What we see is a military camp Ц a cluster of artefacts evoking a vague disquiet.

The Night before the Attack is the largest work in Brodsky's creative biography. The genre is known as a "total installation" Ц a line extending back to the Conceptualists in Russian art (Komar and Melamid, Irina Nakhova, Ilya Kabakov). For them, this was a step beyond the bounds of the picture and object, towards the construction of an entire artistic environment. For Brodsky, however, such a type of installation is a logical offshoot of the architectural-design way of thinking typical of his profession.

The Context
Alexander Brodsky's installation dates back to an anonymous object specially created by the artist for one of the Art Myth Fairs, which were held up until the mid-1990s. In each new project, as one might expect of a professional architect, Brodsky reinterprets assimilated forms and discoveries. Every time, he sends a familiar motif in a whole new direction, drawing the viewer back to his key themes Ц the unsteady balance between comfort and entropy and the shaky borderline between the building as an idea and the building as a physical body. In Brodsky's interior works, a communal apartment becomes a club (Apshu), while a tiny plywood house created from elements stylised as construction waste becomes a pavilion (Pavilion for Vodka Ceremonies).

Uncertainty is a very important motif for Brodsky. His objects normally have no definite literary basis and The Night before the Attack is no exception. The desire to work with form and texture excludes the need for a given scenario; what is commonly described as a "living environment" is enough.

The materials selected by Brodsky for his artistic objects are usually related to the lifestyle of the "common man" and his simple joys. The used teabags, drawings made by fingers on glass and the references to dolls' houses and souvenirs Ц familiar to viewers from Brodsky's last exhibition Windows and Factories Ц are supplemented in this new project by polyethylene "hotbeds" from vegetable patches.

Valentin Dyakonov




9.10.2009
print version 
















Main page | Contact us | Search



copyright © 1998-2019 guelman.ru
e-mail: gallery@guelman.ru
IT Support  NOC Service




     Rambler's Top100

15.10.2019 




Вы можете не умереть
Михаил Батин, Алексей Турчин
10.12.2013- 15.12.2013

Вы можете не умереть





«Трасса М4. Ростов - Москва» / Современное искусство Ростова-на-Дону





Лес/ Современное искусство Краснодара





Культурный Альянс. Проект Марата Гельмана

Главная | Контакты | Поиск | Дневник М. Гельмана
Русский | Deutsch | English


























Ночь перед наступлением


Александр Бродский

27.09 – 25.10.2009

Большое Винохранилище


В рамках параллельной программы
3й Московской биеннале современного искусства

Со-организаторы:
Галерея М&Ю Гельман
Центр современного искусства ВИНЗАВОД


ПРОЕКТ

Милитаристское название у нового проекта Александра Бродского возникло неспроста. Художник и архитектор Бродский осваивает, возможно, самое сложное пространство выставочного комплекса "Винзавод" – 6 корпус. Работа с готической залой и – по контрасту – очень низкими отсеками корпуса подразумевает смелость и боевой дух. Здесь в 2005-м году выставкой "Верю!" началась история "Винзавода" как культурной институции. Со времен "Верю!" мало кто из кураторов и художников брался за художественное обустройство этого места.

Бродский познакомился с пространством корпуса 6 давно, еще работая над общей интерьерной и архитектурной концепцией "Винзавода". С тех пор архитектор мечтал о создании инсталляции, которая вписалась бы в залы корпуса. "Ночь перед наступлением", по мысли Бродского, должна обыграть самые существенные характеристики пространства – плохое, вернее, проблемное освещение, огромные размеры, повышенную влажность.

6 корпус погружен в полную темноту. Единственными источниками света являются светящиеся объекты, расположенные внутри нескольких строений. Постройки, обитые полиэтиленом, напоминают парники, обычную примету дач и огородов России. Но название должно направить поток зрительных ассоциаций в другую сторону: перед нами – военный лагерь, скопление артефактов, вызывающее ощущение неясной тревоги.

Для Бродского "Ночь перед наступлением" – наиболее масштабная работа в творческой биографии. Ее жанр можно определить как "тотальная инсталляция". Эта линия в отечественном искусстве идет от концептуалистов (Комар и Меламид, Ирина Нахова, Илья Кабаков). Но если для них это был выход за пределы картины и объекта к построению целостной художественной среды, то для Бродского, как архитектора, такой тип инсталляции – логичное ответвление характерного для профессии зодчего проектного мышления.

КОНТЕКСТ
Предыстория инсталляции уходит в далекое прошлое, к безымянному объекту, созданному Бродским специально для одной из ярмарок "АРТ-МИФ" (прекратившей свое существование в середине 1990-х). Бродский, как и положено профессиональному архитектору, для каждого проекта заново переосмысляет уже освоенные формы и находки. Каждый раз ему удается повернуть знакомый мотив в совершенно другую сторону так, что зритель оказывается заново вовлечен в важнейшие темы Бродского: нестабильный баланс между уютом и энтропией, зыбкая граница между зданием как идеей и зданием как физическим телом. Так, в его интерьерных работах коммунальная квартира становится клубом ("Апшу"), а фанерный домик, собранный из элементов, стилизованных под строительный мусор, – павильоном ("Павильон для водочных церемоний").

Мотив неопределенности очень важен для художника. У его объектов чаще всего нет определенной литературной основы. "Ночь перед наступлением" не исключение. Стремление работать с формой и фактурой исключает необходимость в заданном сценарии для произведения. Достаточно того, что обозначается обычно как "жилая среда". Материалы, выбираемые Бродским для художественных объектов, обычно отсылают к образу жизни среднего "маленького человека" с его "маленькими радостями". Использованные чайные пакетики, рисование пальцем на стекле, отсылки к кукольным домикам и сувенирам, знакомые зрителям по последней выставке Бродского "Окна и фабрики", в новом проекте дополнены полиэтиленовыми "парниками" с дачных участков.

Валентин Дьяконов




















Главная | Контакты | Поиск | Дневник М. Гельмана



copyright © 1998–2019 guelman.ru
e-mail: gallery@guelman.ru
сопровождение  NOC Service




    Rambler's Top100   Яндекс цитирования