12.11.2019 





contemporary art on the net

Main page | Contact us | Search
–усский | Deutsche | English





















ATLANTIS


Valery Koshlyakov

September 25 - October 30, 2011



Dostoevsky. 2011. Acrylic on canvas, markers, 250х200 cm

Dostoevsky. 2011. Acrylic on canvas, markers, 250х200 cm
Mayakovsky. 2011. Acrylic on canvas, markers, 250х200 сm

Mayakovsky. 2011. Acrylic on canvas, markers, 250х200 сm
Lev Tolstoy. 2011. Acrylic on canvas, markers, 227x174 cm

Lev Tolstoy. 2011. Acrylic on canvas, markers, 227x174 cm
The entire exposition
As part of the 4th Moscow Biennale of Contemporary Art, the Guelman Gallery presents a new project of the well-known contemporary Russian artist Valery Koshlyakov.

Valery Koshlyakov was born in 1962 in Salsk, the Rostov Region. In 1985 he graduated from the Grekov Art College in Rostov-on-Don. He is a member of the "Art or Death" Group that was formed in the late 1980s. In 1989 he moved with a group of Rostov artists to Moscow, where he worked from 1991 to 1993 in the studios in Trekhprudny Pereulok.

Koshlyakov represented Russia at the 50th Venice Biennale, his works have been exhibited in the major museums of the world (the State Tretyakov Gallery, the State Russian Museum, the Louvre, the Guggenheim Museum in New York and Bilbao, the Pompidou Centre etc.) and are kept in their collections.

Valery Koshlyakov became well-known by his large format painting on cardboard.

He works with the symbols of the world classical culture Ц the theme which new art has discredited and rejected as an obsolete phenomenon. The artist has been brave enough to rehabilitate beauty, freeing it from the dungeons of kitsch. The Hellenic spirit Ц a single world of the ideas of beauty Ц has been revealed anew by the artist, as if he were looking at this world through the eyes of a Renaissance man.

"Atlantis" Ц is a continuation of the Russian theme initiated in 2005. The projects "Relics. Made in the USSR" (2005) and "Sarcophagus" (2006 and 2008) Ц are about the artist's feelings regarding the Empire which has disappeared without a trace. The project "Atlantis" is a new development of this theme.

"I work with utopian mythologies, and in the project "Atlantis" I was inspired by the mysterious phenomenon of Russian history. There are drawings on canvas, in which famous historical figures are hardly recognisable. Here painting is not for the sake of painting, rather it manifests itself through the graphic techniques of sketches or drawings, made with highlighter pens on canvas. This is an attempt to see, let's say, Kandinsky or others in the familiar face of Repin, or visa versa Ц here a portrait likeness is not important, what matters is the place which they now occupy. History has passed, leaving just their faces in school textbooks and in the familiar black and white newsreels, only enlivened by adding colour, as is done with an old movie".
V. Koshlyakov




15.09.2011
print version 
















Main page | Contact us | Search



copyright © 1998-2019 guelman.ru
e-mail: gallery@guelman.ru
IT Support  NOC Service




     Rambler's Top100

6.12.2019 




Вы можете не умереть
Михаил Батин, Алексей Турчин
10.12.2013- 15.12.2013

Вы можете не умереть





«Трасса М4. Ростов - Москва» / Современное искусство Ростова-на-Дону





Лес/ Современное искусство Краснодара





Культурный Альянс. Проект Марата Гельмана

Главная | Контакты | Поиск | Дневник М. Гельмана
Русский | Deutsch | English


























ATLANTIS


Валерий Кошляков

25 сентября - 30 октября, 2011



Достоевский. 2011. Холст, акрил, маркеры, 250х200 cм

Достоевский. 2011. Холст, акрил, маркеры, 250х200 cм
Маяковский. 2011. Холст, акрил, маркеры, 250х200 см

Маяковский. 2011. Холст, акрил, маркеры, 250х200 см
Лев Толстой. 2011. Холст, акрил, маркеры, 227x174 cм

Лев Толстой. 2011. Холст, акрил, маркеры, 227x174 cм
Полная экспозиция
В рамках 4-й Московской биеннале современного искусства Гельман Галерея представляет новый проект известного современного российского художника Валерия Кошлякова.

Валерий Кошляков родился в 1962 в г. Сальске Ростовской области. Окончил художественное училище им. М. Б. Грекова в Ростове-на-Дону в 1985 году. Является членом Товарищества "Искусство или смерть", сложившегося в конце 80-х. В 1989 переезжает в Москву с группой ростовских художников, где работает с 1991 по 1993 в мастерских в Трехпрудном переулке.

Кошляков представлял Россию на 50-й Венецианской биеннале, его работы выставлялись и находятся в коллекциях крупнейших музеев мира (в Государственной Третьяковской галерее, Государственном Русском музее, в Лувре, в Гуггенхайм музее в Нью-Йорке и Бильбао, Центре Помпиду и т.д.).

Валерий Кошляков стал известен живописью большого формата по гофрокартону.

Он работает с символами мировой классической культуры – с темой, которая дискредитирована и отвергнута новым искусством как отжившее явление. Художник взял на себя смелость реабилитировать красоту, освободив ее из застенков китча. Эллинский дух – единый мир идей красоты – открывается автором заново, как если бы он смотрел на этот мир глазами человека Ренессанса.

"Atlantis" – это продолжение начатой в 2005 году отечественной темы. Проекты художника "Реликвии. Сделано в СССР" (2005), "Саркофаг" (2006 и 2008) – переживания автора о бесследно исчезнувшей империи. Проект "Atlantis" – новое развитие этой темы.

"Я работаю с утопическими мифологиями, и в проекте "Atlantis" меня волновала русская историческая мистерия. Рисунки на холстах, в которых едва узнаваемы известные персонажи истории. Здесь живопись – не для живописи, скорее она проявляется через графические приемы набросков или рисунков, сделанных цветными маркерами на холсте. Это попытка увидеть в знакомых лицах и Репина, и Кандинского одновременно – портретное сходство здесь не важно, важно то место, в котором они оказались для нас. История ушла, остались лишь лица из школьных учебников и из черно-белой знакомой хроники, только оживленные цветом, как раскрашенный старый фильм".
В. Кошляков




















Главная | Контакты | Поиск | Дневник М. Гельмана



copyright © 1998–2019 guelman.ru
e-mail: gallery@guelman.ru
сопровождение  NOC Service




    Rambler's Top100   Яндекс цитирования