12.11.2019 





contemporary art on the net

Main page | Contact us | Search
| Deutsche | English





















Bible Post


Yury Shabelnikov

December 8, 2011 - January 29, 2012



And the earth was without form, and void; and darkness was upon the face of the deep. And the Spirit of God moved upon the face of the waters. The First Book of Moses, called Genesis 1:2. 2011. Acrylic, tempera on canvas, object, 205x333 cm

And the earth was without form, and void; and darkness was upon the face of the deep. And the Spirit of God moved upon the face of the waters. The First Book of Moses, called Genesis 1:2. 2011. Acrylic, tempera on canvas, object, 205x333 cm
Therefore take no thought, saying, What shall we eat? or, What shall we drink? or, Wherewithal shall we be clothed? Matthew 6:31. 20102011. Acrylic, tempera on canvas, object, 205x333 cm

Therefore take no thought, saying, What shall we eat? or, What shall we drink? or, Wherewithal shall we be clothed? Matthew 6:31. 20102011. Acrylic, tempera on canvas, object, 205x333 cm
And seeing the multitudes, he went up into a mountain... Matthew 5:1. 2011. Acrylic, tempera on canvas, object, 205x333 cm

And seeing the multitudes, he went up into a mountain... Matthew 5:1. 2011. Acrylic, tempera on canvas, object, 205x333 cm
The entire exposition
Bible Post was originally conceived as an attempt to interpret and understand the biblical texts via a dramaturgic structure. The example of the church sermon suggested the method of analogy or applying the holy texts to various realities, phenomena and situations in life. That is why a combination or comparison of the given and the moral imperative always arises. It is this combination which leads to what might be called the "levels of understanding."
In the Bible, we encounter Epistles and Good News. To our minds, the Holy Scriptures are a form of postal communication from the celestial forces. This explains the name of the project Bible Post. The format of the vehicle of the text was carefully chosen. The messages from on high are the pages of the Bible, turned into a paper airplane or a dove, which, in the traditional iconography, symbolises the Holy Spirit the messenger of God or "celestial postman."

Illuminated manuscripts developed as an art form in the Middle Ages. In parallel to this, the mystery play appeared in theatrical art. The borderline between illuminations and drama, where the Holy Scriptures are the basis or the narrative, is the place where the structure of the Bible Post project was formed.

The texts and books of the Old and New Testaments are, of course, too wide and profound in scope to possibly fit inside one project. The artist has, therefore, selected what he considers to be the key excerpts and episodes, which lie at the heart of the content of Bible Post. All subjects or mise- en-scènes, although only a small part, manage to reflect the content of the Holy Scriptures from the beginning (The First Book of Moses) to the end (The Revelation of St John the Divine or Apocalypse).

In this way, the entire dramaturgy of the project slots into the format of the Holy Scriptures, covering all significant epistles and events, which are, in turn, represented in the form of assemblages and objects. The leading role is played by the text only not as a commentary or a space for illustration, but as a subject, a personage, the main hero of the play, which, through its presence in various subjects and situations is, at the same time, the main dramatis persona and message. In turn, the viewer is directly included in this process and unwittingly addresses the original source (the Bible itself), correctly reading the subject of the representation and articulating the content and meaning of the books of the Old and New Testaments. This is the ultimate aim and task of the Bible Post project.

Yury Shabelnikov




25.11.2011
print version 
















Main page | Contact us | Search



copyright 1998-2019 guelman.ru
e-mail: gallery@guelman.ru
IT Support  NOC Service




     Rambler's Top100

12.12.2019 




Вы можете не умереть
Михаил Батин, Алексей Турчин
10.12.2013- 15.12.2013

Вы можете не умереть





«Трасса М4. Ростов - Москва» / Современное искусство Ростова-на-Дону





Лес/ Современное искусство Краснодара





Культурный Альянс. Проект Марата Гельмана

Главная | Контакты | Поиск | Дневник М. Гельмана
Русский | Deutsch | English


























Библейская почта


Юрий Шабельников

8 декабря 2011 - 29 января 2012



«Земля же была безвидна и пуста, и тьма над бездною, и Дух Божий носился над водою». Первая книга Моисея. Бытие. Глава 1. Стих 2. 2011. Холст, акрил, темпера, объект, 205x333 см

«Земля же была безвидна и пуста, и тьма над бездною, и Дух Божий носился над водою». Первая книга Моисея. Бытие. Глава 1. Стих 2. 2011. Холст, акрил, темпера, объект, 205x333 см
«Итак не заботьтесь и не говорите: что нам есть? или что пить? или во что одеться?» Евангелие от Матфея. Глава 6. Стих 31. 2010–2011. Холст, акрил, темпера, объект, 205х333 см

«Итак не заботьтесь и не говорите: что нам есть? или что пить? или во что одеться?» Евангелие от Матфея. Глава 6. Стих 31. 2010–2011. Холст, акрил, темпера, объект, 205х333 см
«Увидев народ, Он взошел на гору…» Евангелие от Матфея. Глава 5. Стих 1. 2011. Холст, акрил, темпера, объект, 205х333 см

«Увидев народ, Он взошел на гору…» Евангелие от Матфея. Глава 5. Стих 1. 2011. Холст, акрил, темпера, объект, 205х333 см
Полная экспозиция
"Библейская почта" задумывалась изначально как попытка осмысления и понимания библейских текстов через драматургическую структуру. Кроме того, пример церковной проповеди подсказывает метод аналогии, иными словами, применения священных текстов к тем или иным жизненным реалиям, явлениям и ситуациям. Отсюда в сознании всегда возникает момент наложения или сопоставления данности и нравственного императива. И именно в таком соединении может возникнуть то, что можно назвать "ступени понимания".

В Библии мы сталкиваемся с "посланиями", с Благой вестью. В нашем сознании Священное Писание есть своего рода почтовая связь с высшими силами. Отсюда и название проекта "Библейская почта". Сам формат носителя текста был выбран не случайно. Послания свыше – это страницы из Библии, сложенные в "самолетик" или, еще можно, сказать в "голубок", а этот последний в сложившейся иконографии символизирует Духа Святого, то есть Посланника Божьего, "небесного почтальона".

В Средние века сложился такой вид искусства, как иллюстрация рукописных книг. Параллельно с этим возник жанр мистерии в театральном искусстве. На границе между иллюстрацией и драматургией, где основой или нарративом является Священное Писание, и складывается структура проекта "Библейская почта".

Разумеется, весь массив текстов и книг Ветхого и Нового Завета столь обширен и глубок, что охватить его целиком в рамках одного проекта не представляется возможным. Поэтому автором были выбраны наиболее ключевые, с его точки зрения, фрагменты и эпизоды, которые и легли в основу содержания "Библейской почты". Все сюжеты или мизансцены, состоящие в нем, хотя и малой частью, но все же отражают контент Священного Писания от начала (Первая книга Моисея) и до конца (Откровение святого Иоанна Богослова или Апокалипсис).

Таким образом, вся драматургия проекта целиком укладывается в полный формат Священного Писания и охватывает знаковые послания и события, которые, в свою очередь, представлены в виде ассамбляжей и объектов. Ведущую роль играет текст. Текст не как комментарий или пространство для иллюстрации, но как субъект, персонаж, главный герой пьесы, который своим присутствием в различных сюжетных ситуациях является одновременно и главным действующим лицом, и сообщением. В свою очередь, зритель, непосредственно включенный в этот процесс, невольно обращается к первоисточнику, к самой Библии, дабы правильно прочитать сюжет увиденного, актуализируя для себя самого содержание и смысл книг Ветхого и Нового Завета. Это в конечном счете составляет цель и задачу проекта "Библейская почта".

Юрий Шабельников




















Главная | Контакты | Поиск | Дневник М. Гельмана



copyright © 1998–2019 guelman.ru
e-mail: gallery@guelman.ru
сопровождение  NOC Service




    Rambler's Top100   Яндекс цитирования